It’s my job to marinate the Sockeye Salmon

20120812-122908.jpg

And marinate I did. It’s a foggy day at Alder Bay (across from Alert Bay on Bc’s north Vancouver Island coast ~ also around the corner from Telegraph Cove ~ for those google mapping). My sweety went to do a scuba job in Port McNeill for the afternoon and I’m chillin by the fire, watching fishing boats come in. After my blueberry snack I’m heading out with my trusty slr camera. I’m bringing my biggest member because size counts when photographing eagles & the whales, that I’m most certain are waiting for me. Smerk* Other excitement today was the lady that ran from from site to site inviting us to the dock. “In 10 mins the Stanley Cup is being helicoptered over”. I’m guessing the winning team had a player from Port McNeil (name lost on this artist already…). Proud Canadians jumped and waved in the 2 secs it took to fly by. I was at least hoping it would be dangling below it? Non.

Back to our dinner. Actually bought this fish in CR the other day while visiting the fishing dock with my sweet dad. I just did the simple BC BBQ marinade: deboned her, split her open, fresh lemon squeezed and sliced, some chives, some fresh dill. Tin foiled her up, zip locked her to be “cooler safe” & laid her on a bed of ice til the chef gets home. I’m guessing hibachi bbq’d not campfire. What are you having for dinner?

20120812-122927.jpg
PS. This blog was photographed & submitted entirely on my iPhone by the campfire. We can’t even get cel coverage at home! Yeah!
Make Something Every Day

One comment on “It’s my job to marinate the Sockeye Salmon

  1. Ooo! Sounds good. If you’re anything like moi and you’re using your phone as your main source of photography equipment, that thing’s pretty greasy by now. Right?!
    xx
    (Thanks for stopping by!)

Leave a Reply

