it’s been a when-it-rains-it-pours kind of couple of weeks

Dearest BLOG friends,

I’ve got a few emails lately from people I don’t know. They are asking what happened to my daily posts? So it occurs to me, a little slower than most, I suppose ~ people are reading my missives. Cool. That’s cool. I’m not signed onto the blogroll or blogger system, i don’t think, so how are they hearing about me? (tech friends chime in here… what gives?


Of late ~ it’s been a when-it-rains-it-pours couple of weeks, without much rain actually. (Wow that was really witty. Maybe now I’m telling bad jokes to please the masses? I mustn’t).  I’ll use that as my subject title and we’ll call it even. Lots of changes in boat adventures, me closing my Quadra office and opening one in Campbell River, working on changing letters behind the name, insurance and spring times at the beachhouse require some maintaining. Mostly that’s code for composting and making out. wink. All that said – I’m back in action and will post some entries that altho are not beachcombing ARE in fact beachlife and it ALL makes me happy.

I’ve been making Corey watch lame upcycling youtube videos of crafting, while on the ferry. He loathes the term but did learn how to make a girl’s headband from a recycled bike tire tube, on the 5:25 ferry.  How lucky is he?

upcycling (click on LINK)
Upcycling is a new term and there still seems to be some talk about what it’s true meaning is. To me upcycling is a step up from recycling (hence the name?). Upcycling is when you reuse an item, or a piece of an item to create something new. Upcycling doesn’t take as much energy or produce as much of a carbon footprint as Recycling does. With upcycling you do not need to reprocess the item back into a raw form. Most of the items on this blog are upcycled. Upcycling is more fun than the previous two. With upcycling anyone can use their imagination, take some items from the recycling bin or trash and use them to create something new.

C’MON CRAFTERS >>>

Is there an UPCYCLE  project you’d like to see me attempt?

Upcycle something and email me  a photo with a list of the items used to make your new creation. I’ll post it on this blog. If you want you can send the instructions for making that item and I’ll post that too.

Hope you enjoy & feel free to comment & compliment

p.s. The weather has been STUNNING for a while!

more soon ~mermaid

One comment on “it’s been a when-it-rains-it-pours kind of couple of weeks

Leave a Reply

