the baking of dogbones.. or How much I love my dog.

tandoori smoked salmon dog bones

Snapper and parsley dogbones

here's what a snapper looks like! Caught in Klemtu, BC this spring. The model is pretty cute as well.

Kate asked about my dog bone recipes. The new addition to the Turner clan is a real sweetheart. Abby. See photo below.

I have no recipe per say.. everything is human edible and organic as much as possible. I  like the idea of buying food locally, so always get eggs up the street etc or stuff from my garden.

Ingredients are as follows:

-fish (I use whatever is on rotation for going bad in freezer. Corey catches it while in camp, up north. Smoked salmon or Snapper or  pink salmon etc.. next ones are going to be Halibut..so stay tuned in September!).

-2 eggs

-organic whole wheat flour

-non fat milk (tiny bit if too dry)

-fresh herbs: PARSLEY… like handfuls for sure for their breathe.

-garlic. Lots. Good for dogs & they LOVE it. See Parsley.

-organic carrots usually for a veg

-baking powder or soda..honestly i never remember which does what, but you probably know.

I use the fish as the liquid to add to the dry. I tend to break a blender while mixing  the fish,  it’s juice, the carrots, garlic and parsley. (See new Slap Chop Posting).

Add liquid to dry, mix, add love.

Pam a baking sheet. Find the coolest cutters you can. my dinosaur cutters are the best! (I also use them for fried eggs). Roll out your dough. I usually freeze half, as I always make too much to bake in an evening. Cut your cookies.

I bake them at 405 for less than 20 mins (flipping half way), until brown. Don’t overcook or they are too chewy… though Amos has never once complained.

Feedback from dogfolk that I usually give frozen ziplocs of dogbones too? “it’s like crack for my dog” “very rich”.

They last a week in a glass jar before molding.

((I’m sure I’ve missed something in the recipe but I’ll thank Kate for making me post / write my first recipe ever..and it was for Amos..xo)).

Abby. The Turner's new addition.

3 comments on “the baking of dogbones.. or How much I love my dog.

Leave a Reply

