ORCAS, always with the ORCAS

What the day looked like

HAPPY JOHNNY CASH DAY!

Brilliant day to live at the beach, yesterday! I woke to loons crying, in the fog ~ outside my bedroom window. Later in the aft,  I was painting. Yes, today’s Make Something Every Day was painting. Just warming back into it. Im trying to use up old canvases and a box of paints we got for 50 cents at a garage sale on the Loop, recently. The womyn said they were her late mother’s and she was an artist. Many thanks~

So there I am on the deck with Amos and my paints and I feel it in my chest like a thumping, then I hear it with my ears like an elephant roaring.. the BLOW HOLE of an ORCA. I jump up, spill stuff, stub my toe (drama ensues trying to get my camera, the big member attached and flips on ~ in time to run down to the shoreline). And I see them, two beauties.. for about 3 minutes.

ORCA fin, about 200 meters away.

I’ve for sure taken better photos, this is just for evidence purposes. I’m ALWAYS looking for whales. Corey sees them ALL the time, at camp..breaching etc..

I’m not kidding, no less than 5 minutes later I see this from the north…

and at the same time, this from the south…

The whales didn’t have a chance for privacy today. Whale watching guides up the ying yang.

I had a peek-see on Wika KILLER WHALE WIKI PAGE for more info on orcas. Some facts I didn’t know / remember:

size of the whale compared to Corey. lol.

  • Killer whales are regarded as apex predators, lacking natural predators.
  • Killer whales distinctively bear a black back, white chest and sides, and a white patch above and behind the eye.
  • Calves are born with a yellowish or orange tint, which fades to white.
  • Killer whales have a heavy and robust body (more so than other dolphins) and a large dorsal fin up to 2 metres (6.6 ft) tall.
  • Population in Canada    2,250–2,700 off the cooler northeast Pacific.
  • Killer whales have the second-largest brains among marine mammals.

Bill Reid's jade Killer Whale.. one of my top 5 fav sculptures

3 comments on “ORCAS, always with the ORCAS

  1. Saw the whale in the first picture. Was it driving the boat in the second two?
    I wonder if whale fillets would be tasty?
    Bet that got your blood boiling!

Leave a Reply

