She Runs With Scissors

photo taken in CR, for Michele M in Montreal

A new store opened in Campbell River recently. As we drove by it yesterday, I commented to Corey that Michele in Montreal has some super funny childhood story  about running with scissors. (I haven’t actually even met her but she seems pretty awesome & crafty..lol)I assumed it was a hair salon but our  travel agent said otherwise. Today, I went up and met some really friendly, crafty  scrapbook  ladies. They  gave me great motivations for wedding invitations.

click here for their facebook page

I’M HOPING MICELE WILL COMMENT AND TELL US HER STORY, HERSELF!

hehe, I had a giggle when I read this post and saw this craft store name – I absolutely love it! I think every craft girl has run with scissors or had a mishap along their creative adventures…

I can blame my accident on my age (I was 6 at the time) and a case of over-excitement about crafty times.

I was in grade 1. I remember sitting at my little wooden desk/chair after having just finished a spelling test. My teacher, Ms. Howe let the class know that Mr. Linkletter from down the hall was going to join us for afternoon craft time. Oh BOY was I excited! I remember him being very patient and especially talented at folding paper oh-so-perfectly. Funny the little things we remember. So I started to excitedly get all my supplies out of my desk – glue, paper, crayons, ruler… scissors. Now maybe the rules back in the 80s weren’t so strict as now, for these scissors were quite sharp, not just for paper. With one quick, smooth motion, the scissors came from out of my little cubby desk below straight into my nostril. Needless to say, I started bleeding allll over my 80s printed gymsuit. OWWWW! and I wasn’t even running! ha, I wish I still had that gymsuit, I could have created something interesting with it…

Luckily the incident hasn’t traumatized me and I am happily crafting with glue, scissors, buttons, printed papers and more!

Thanks for thinking of me Jen. We’ll have to meet one of these days for a crafternoon xo

MAKE SOMETHING EVERY DAY!



2 comments on “She Runs With Scissors

  1. hehe, I had a giggle when I read this post and saw this craft store name – I absolutely love it! I think every craft girl has run with scissors or had a mishap along their creative adventures…

    I can blame my accident on my age (I was 6 at the time) and a case of over-excitement about crafty times.

    I was in grade 1. I remember sitting at my little wooden desk/chair after having just finished a spelling test. My teacher, Ms. Howe let the class know that Mr. Linkletter from down the hall was going to join us for afternoon craft time. Oh BOY was I excited! I remember him being very patient and especially talented at folding paper oh-so-perfectly. Funny the little things we remember. So I started to excitedly get all my supplies out of my desk – glue, paper, crayons, ruler… scissors. Now maybe the rules back in the 80s weren’t so strict as now, for these scissors were quite sharp, not just for paper. With one quick, smooth motion, the scissors came from out of my little cubby desk below straight into my nostril. Needless to say, I started bleeding allll over my 80s printed gymsuit. OWWWW! and I wasn’t even running! ha, I wish I still had that gymsuit, I could have created something interesting with it…

    Luckily the incident hasn’t traumatized me and I am happily crafting with glue, scissors, buttons, printed papers and more!

    Thanks for thinking of me Jen. We’ll have to meet one of these days for a crafternoon xo

  2. PS – now that the cold weather is upon us, I’m back into it! I have one project in mind, though this time, it’s crafting on the computer… *wink

Leave a Reply

