Mistress Mary Quite Contrary, how does your garden grow?

Mistress Mary

Mistress Mary, Quite Contrary 2 – Illustration by w:en:William Wallace Denslow

from the Project Gutenberg EBook of Denslow’s Mother Goose, by Anonymous

Original copyright 1902 by William Wallace Denslow

Well, I am making friends wth salad these days – I’m off all the “whites” = anything flour, wheat, sugar based. So garden salads at the end of the greenhouse season, it is! We had some lovely salads from the garden last week! Green and red peppers (first time I have ever grown these), lots of chives and parsley, swiss chard and previously lots of lettuce. The fall lettuce and kale hasn’t really taken as the weather has been rain and more rain, lately.

I plan on doing a longer post about the greenhouse and how it all went. I feel in some ways this blogging Make Something Every Day experience has been an online journal of sorts, from which I will look back next spring and decide what worked and didn’t before building a new greenhouse at the new house. Instead of having seperate garden and recipe etc journals, I’ll do it all here.  We are moving next week so I will document the garden process throughly at that time. Fingers crossed that the Jack-o-lantern patch that I planted for Corey and my Hubbard squash are ready by Halloween! C’mon SUN!

On a more creative front ~ I came home Thursday night to a surprise ish turkey Birthday dinner from my lovely fiance. He spoiled me as usual (he’s pretty niiice). After dinner I began the turkey soup process, which I really love every fall. Here’s the stock on the stove with Bay Leaves that I dried from the tree out front (I mailed some out to friends but my original batch molded- lesson learned) and dill stock from the greenhouse.

dill and bay leaves in turkey stock.

MAKE SOMETHING EVERY DAY

Leave a Reply

