Remember Salal’s birthday

Happy Remember Day Canada!

I’m sure all “cat-people” at one time say they never thought they’d be a cat person and post photos of their cat online.  Salal turns 10 years old today. He was rescued during a child protection child removal from a foster home on the  Old Masset reserve on Haida Gwaii. I was not a cat person but heard the squeal and went nuts taking him home. My admin also ran the SPCA on island and hooked me up with all the gear and knowledge. I  named Salal after the BC wild blueberry bush that grows up to the armpits on Haida Gwaii and also here on Quadra Island.

Amos nursed him and I brought him to work for 6 weeks and fed him with an eye dropper. He hid under my clothes in major meetings, diffused MANY an angry reluctant youth counselling session and became a car cat, as a result. He’s super healthy and tolerates his cat brother Estevan. He likes to jump in the bathe with Kate. Even my dad loved him. Here’s some of my favs photos over time of Salal-berry-Jam-face.

3 comments on “Remember Salal’s birthday

    • Salal is beside me as I wish you and Scotia folk a Happy Johnny Cash Day! We are cleaning the downstairs and hi fi today for some listening and crafty pleasures! Stay warm, thanxs for the package!!!!

  1. Nope, I’ve never NOT been a cat person. Always loved ’em, always will. But I love dogs too. 🙂

    Happy belated birthday, Salal!

Leave a Reply

