the pleasures of peyote

Even after my weekly grounding tradition of watering all the plants (last week’s grounding was more like repotting 7 plants before seeing clients to ensure I wasn’t still upset), I find myself with a couple extra free hours in the therapy office today. Yes Kate and C that was a long run on sentence. I am labeling and filing and purging art pieces. In that process I rediscovered an unfinished beaded eagle feather. Ah, the pleasures of the peyote stitch. This must be how knitters feel. Don’t you just want to put the next bead on? You can see where it might go… and so on and so on and soooo….. I bead until the next client arrives. Yeah me, i love my job.

I’ve had a few responses from a previous post on beading eagle feathers.  Learning from another person (traditional forms ideally) is best but here’s some instructional on peyote. This man’s pattern is totally inspiring and perhaps beyond my present skills. 

 

It gets a tad more complicated to wrap it around the feather. As you can see in the video, gluing hyde on first helps so the beads don’t slip off. I swear the first two rows are the hardest – it takes as much time to measure out and perfect the first 2 rows as it does to complete the project. I’ll post this project when it’s complete.

Here’s a ton of patterns of things to make using the peyote stitch click here for patterns 

the scale of the feathers - they are huge!

Make Something Every Day

 

 

5 comments on “the pleasures of peyote

    • I miss you more Snapper! we had to sleep in… Exhausted from so much cheese! You realize your spare room bed is already made ~for whenever you can get your little butt out here! Xo.

  1. Pingback: Beaded Eagle Feather « Thing-a-Day 2012

Leave a Reply

