*** 38 inspiring objects ***

In several ways throughout this year, I am going to embrace being 38 yrs old. One of which will be by adding a new category to my BLOG entitled…. “38 inspiring objects” (the list will grow weekly & be posted under “categories” running down the right side of this blog).

Once a week I will post a photo & explanation of an object around our retreat, my studio, my art therapy offices, my life ~ that inspires my creativity. It may be a painting, a favorite art supply, a gift received, something from my childhood or current art medium. Hope you are inspired and give feedback positive or otherwise!    Either way…

Here’s number 1 of “38 inspiring objects.”

1. Alps oil painting.

To some, this may look like another thrift store $9.99 oil painting of the Alps. True, it IS the Alps but it’s worth a tad more -both personally and monetarily. I inherited this painting from my late Nana. It hug above her couch for my entire childhood and most of my Dad’s. It’s now hanging proudly in our pad. It came with an appraisal for quite a bit ~but in the relocating it from Ontario to BC recently, it got lost. Therefore I have no clue who painted it but I do know it’s late 1800s. The artist signed it but it’s almost impossible to decipher his signature. Can you? (double click images to enlarge or save). I’ve been googling it to no avail for weeks. ANY SUGGESTIONS how to find the artist? Please comment if so (ie. Matriarch?). Lucky for me, my husband likes it. I find it comforting, warm, with memories of my Nana very present daily.  It’s a perfect choice for a  fall inspiration. It inspires me to oil paint – but not scenery. Never scenery. And you?

Make Something Every Day

2 comments on “*** 38 inspiring objects ***

  1. If it’s been around since your Dad was a boy (hello … we’re both still kids) I’m wondering if it came from the neighbours next-door on Regent St. I don’t ever recall any conversation about it. Sorry.
    TM
    PS … found the PERFECT crafty thing for you. Watch for mail. Early Xmas gift. 🙂

  2. I love it having objects around my home which have stories behind them… like you I have some fantastic silk paintings from my great grandmother (definitely not to my style, but I associate them so strongly with her and her little bungalow they make me smile) Lovely post!

Leave a Reply

