resin results

well hello blog friends! it’s been a week long hang over from the THING A DAY project I did in Feb! Phew. It was super fun and sparked me in all different directions. This past few weeks, we’ve been dealing with our aging pup (who is not in pain and happy on meds for now, thanks for asking).. so I’ve been focusing on that, lots of work and my record a day blog.

A couple days ago, I had the pleasure of making a huge mess and having huge fun with resin experiments. After watching youtube videos and buying some.. I decided to try all sorts of molds, objects embedded, beach objects used etc.. I had some success with food colouring and using paint pallette molds, while the chocolate plastic molds held my creations tightly after curing (24 hours)..no matter how much PAM spray I used ahead of time. hm.

Here’s some photos of the messy fun and creations. I used porquipine needles, paintings, photos, charms, beach glass, plastic animals, flowers, material, buttons, washer pendents, coral, shells,  dead bugs… I practiced on a painted canvas. Resin is equal to 7 layers or more of lacquer and can be used to create depth which you can then paint on top of again etc. very cool stuff. Still to learn: polishing, drilling holes, filing edges. see if you can spot my new easel!?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Make Something Every Day

2 comments on “resin results

  1. Pingback: A Moment in Time « Black Cat Originals

Leave a Reply

