bronze & copper clay art class completed works!

Well, last week I finished the last of my metal clay jewelery making art classes at the Campbell River Art Gallery. What class should I take next!?

Pretty fun, intimate, low key art class with really inspiring local folks. So awesome to talk to people that are as nerdy as I am and have more skills than me. I learned the art of using precious metal clay ~ that’s how you actually make silver, bronze and copper jewelery.  As well, making molds was super fun ~ I have several ideas of other things to make! And I can reuse those molds with.. drum roll… RESIN!!

If you look back at the month of Feb on this blog ~ you will see the start of this class and the clay in raw form. Here’s what I ended up with after forming and firing and finishing:

moonsnail nipple pendent in bronze

  

copper pendents 2 inches long, from root inlays

copper earrings from plants leaf inlays, 1 inch long, silver wire will make ear wires

Metal clay is a crafting medium consisting of very small particles of metal such as silvergold, or copper mixed with an organic binder and water for use in making jewelrybeads and small sculptures. Originating in Japan in 1990, metal clay can be shaped just like any soft clay, by hand or using molds. After drying, the clay can be fired in a variety of ways such as in a kiln, with a handheld gas torch, or on a gas stove. The binder burns away, leaving the puresintered metal.  PMC was developed in the early 1990s in Japan by metallurgist Masaki Morikawa. I would be a chemist / scientist now if I was taught about this stuff in highschool. 
Make Something Every Day

Related articles

One comment on “bronze & copper clay art class completed works!

Leave a Reply

