Purge a thing a day ~in May

Motivated by a blog I read recently about simplifying life – she purged one thing every day for a year, I’m onto a new challenge. We seem to move annually on my birthday at the beginning of October & I’m shocked every year at how much we acquire. Buying, craigslist scores, hand me downs, thrifting etc… This year is no different. Whether we buy or rent we are moving off this sland (& moving over to the big island & 30 mins south), by October 1st!

About 4x a year, I get a big box out and label it “Sally Ann”. This month’s goal? I’m going to get rid of “a thing a day” and show you at the end of the month. I’m aiming for more than that.

Breaking news! I’m having Saturday morning coffee & blogging in bed with my love. He has agreed to join me & have his own box of 30! Whether we thrift it, Recycle, compost, give away… a thing a day (x2) is leaving.

Side confessional: there’s an annual children’s centre garage sale on this island that we attend every year. It’s May 5. I’ll behave, I swear. Mostly just hoping for record scores for my record a blog. Lol. And pottery. And art supplies. Oh go ON!

Also, I finished a book my sweety got me for Xmas:

20120428-113143.jpgIt’s full of inspiring artists & projects that are enviro friendly. Reducing, repurposing, upcycling, recycle. Great education about toxic products we are all guilty of using in our studios & recipes for healthier ones. Also of interest to me were the enviro community art projects.

If you don’t have a fabulous husband like mine who gets me great gifts.. here’s the link to ordering it for yourself: green guide for artists ~ to buy

What could you get rid of this month?
Make Something every day

2 comments on “Purge a thing a day ~in May

  1. I think this is a fabulous idea. And I’ve got some items I’ve been stalling on. Starting May 1, I’m in. Most of them, however, won’t fit in a box, so I think I’ll do it as I go. Thanks for the nudge!

  2. Pingback: May ~purge a thing a day report! « Make Something Every Day

Leave a Reply

